Authors Awards Committee

The Authors Awards Committee seeks to encourage and recognize Alabama authors and promote interest in local authors’ books, whether the books are about Alabama or another subject. Awards are based on literary merit. An honored author must be an Alabamian by birth or have lived in Alabama for at least five (5) years. The book for which the award is presented must have been published within the past three (3) calendar years prior to the year of the Association Convention at which the award is presented. Reprints of works originally published prior to the cutoff year of the award are not eligible for consideration. An author’s body of work is ineligible. An editor or translator may be considered if the book is of value to the permanent record of the State. The honoree must be living.

To suggest a title to the Committee, please email the Committee Chair.

Lifetime Achievement Award

There are many prolific Alabama authors who are deserving of special recognition beyond the standard annual Alabama Author Award.  These authors produce works that, while they might not be the most literary titles of their award period, are important and reflect the richness of Alabama’s literary landscape.

For these authors, the Committee may honor them with a Lifetime Achievement Award. This award will be bestowed upon an author when the committee has deemed him/her to have produced enough literary works to merit this recognition (i.e. not necessarily annually).  The award will come with an award and a financial honorarium equal to that given the other Author Award Winners.


Wendy Stephens, Jacksonville State University
Debbie Walker, Gadsden Public Library
[email protected]

Previous Award Winners