Executive Council

"The Executive Council of the Alabama Library Association, Inc. is entrusted with conducting the business of the Association and is charged with keeping the membership informed of its official acts through The Alabama Librarian or other means. (Article IV, 1)" -- Alabama Library Association Handbook, Chapter 5, p.9. Information about the duties of the officers is available in Chapter 6, p.13.


Members can keep current with the Executive Council by reviewing the approved minutes from the Executive Council meetings. In addition, members can view the Association's calendar to find important dates, including the dates, times, and locations of all Executive Council meetings.


Finally, all members can contact the Association Office for any assistance.


Current members of the Executive Council are the Officers, Division Chairpersons, Ex-Officio Members, Alabama Librarian Editors, Scholarship Fund, Inc. Board President, Round Table Moderators, and Committee Chairs.

Council members are added to the ALLA Executive Council Google Group.

  • Divisions include: YSSLD, CUS, and PLD
  • Roundtables include: ALIRT, CDMRT, GODORT, MCRT, PART, RASRT, TSSRT, and YASRT
  • Committees are: Association Awards, Author Awards, Bibliographic, Budget & Finance, Bylaws, Convention, Education, Emeritus Council, Employee Evaluation, Handbook, Intellectual Freedom, Legislative Development, Membership, Nominating, Planning, Public Relations, and Publications

Voting members are limited to officers and division chairpersons.


  • President: Laura Pitts, Scottsboro Public Library, 256.574.4335, [email protected]
  • President-Elect: Amanda Melcher, University of Montevallo, 205.665.6104, [email protected]
  • Past President: Daniel Tackett, Vestavia Hills Library in the Forest, 205.978.3683, [email protected]
  • Secretary: Paula Webb, University of South Alabama, 251.461.1933, [email protected]
  • Treasurer: Karen Preuss, Retired Librarian, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term begins 7/2020 and ends 6/2022]
  • Member-at-Large: Central Alabama: Emily Allee, Birmingham Public Library, 205.226.3720, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term ends 4/2022]
  • Member-at-Large: North Alabama: Craig Scott, Gadsden Public Library, 256.549.4699 ext. 2120, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term ends 4/2023]
  • Member-at-Large: South Alabama: Wendy Congiardo, Thomas B. Norton Public Library, 251.968.1176, [email protected] [2-Year Term: term ends 4/2022]

Division Chairpersons

  • College, University & Special: Wendy Stephens, Jacksonville State University, 256.520.1878, [email protected]
  • Public Library: Rosanna McGinnis, Lewis Cooper Jr. Memorial Library, 334.705.5380, [email protected]
  • Youth Services & School Library Division: Caitlin Rogers, The Altamont School, 706.566.2178, [email protected]

Ex-Officio Members

  • Association Administrator: Angela Moore, Alabama Library Association, 334.414.0113, [email protected]
  • Web Administrator: Jodi W. Poe, Jacksonville State University, 256.782.8103, [email protected]
  • ALA Councillor: Paula Laurita, Athens-Limestone Public Library, 256.232.1233, [email protected] [3-Year Term: term ends 4/2024]
  • SELA Representative: Chris Shaffer, Troy University, 334.268.9484, [email protected] [4-Year Term: term ends 4/2024]

Other Positions

  • Alabama Libraries Editor-in-Chief: Jessica Platt, Alabama State University, 334.604.9057, [email protected]
  • ALLA COMmunicator Editor: Rodney C. Lawley, Troy University, 334.670.3198, [email protected]
  • Archivist: Donnelly Walton, W.S. Hoole Special Collection Library, University of Alabama, 205.393.3245, [email protected]
  • President, Scholarship Fund, Inc.: VACANT